Adverts

Open Access Articles- Top Results for Tahinopita

Tahinopita

Tahinopita
250px
Vegan and gluten-free version of Tahinopita made with chemical leavening
Type Cake
Place of origin Turkey
Region or state Konya
16x16px Cookbook:Tahinopita  16x16px Tahinopita

Tahinopita (Turkish: Tahinli pide), is a Greek-Cypriot cake which contains no dairy, eggs, or oil and is therefore considered vegan, making it popular during lent. Variations on the recipe include quickbread versions with chemical leaveners (such as baking soda or baking powder), yeasted versions, and phyllo layer versions.

In Cyprus, where the word pita is a generic word for either bread, cake or pastry, tahinopitta refers to a sweet bread roll (see tahini bread roll).

Tahini Pita is the specialty of Konya,Turkey cuisine. It is on the market only during the holy month of Ramadan.[1]


See also

Footnotes

Lua error in package.lua at line 80: module 'Module:Buffer' not found.